The Man-Period

Do men have periods like women do?


Of course not in the same way, but men can experience some fluctuations in hormone levels that can lead to changes in mood. Today my husband was very glum. He seemed to be in an emotional funk, which happens from time to time.
When this happens, I call it his man-period or, man-strual cycle. Everytime this happens he seems to have either an existential mini-mid-life crisis and requires extra support, or he’s just plain irritable and easily angered.

How long does it last?

For my guy it’s usually just for a day. Sometimes just for an afternoon, then he’s back to normal. I’m sure every guy is different, just like every gal has differing symptoms of PMS.

Cosmo wrote an article explaining this very thing, they call it IMS for irritable male syndrome, and it’s real.

What should I do if my man is having this?

I do for my man what I want him to do for me when I have PMS. Be supportive. Listen to his needs. Give him space if that’s what he’s needing, but don’t try to make him feel bad or ashamed. We don’t like it when men assume we’re on our periods just because we’re in a mood. Don’t man-period shame your guy just because you suspect that’s what going on. Instead, just follow the Golden Rule and treat him like you’d want to be treated.

It won’t take long for you dude to be back to his normal self. Not every guy has these symptoms, but the ones that do with experience cyclically similar to a Williams monthly cycle. If, however, the man-period doesn’t go away, or doesn’t just come in cycles, there could be some other issue causing a change mood in your man and it should be discussed with his doctor.

Bottom line: be nice your men. We’re more alike than we realize.

❤ Jess

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑